Developers, Do Not Get Promoted

Pen Magnet
4 min readOct 29, 2019
Photo by Clique Images on Unsplash

During my first performance appraisal meeting (sometimes 18 years ago), I was asked by my manager: What are your next year’s goals?

Almost scratching my head, I asked for specifics. To which, he offered: “Would you like more responsibility, or would you like some more pieces of training this year…Like the one in COM/DCOM (Microsoft’s equivalent of React in those days) ?”

To me, there wasn’t a choice. After all, why would one prefer responsibility against training? I expressed my choice. With a frown, he acknowledged. I came out of the chamber.

When I asked my colleagues why he may have frowned, they laughed at my naivety.

“Who wants a sitting duck who wants to learn and not deliver?” They said. “You are getting a duck in this year’s pay-raise”

I defended my choice by weighing in the pay-range we were eligible for vs the benefits of learning a hot technology. Online learning wasn’t a thing in those days. In fact, Google was in the cradle.

I lost every argument, because in IT world, any rise upward, even if it was 1%, was more beneficial than being an expert. Learning could bring me to places, yes, but my current pay would always be the benchmark of my next one.

--

--

Pen Magnet

Author of Comprehensive Approach to Senior Developer Interview), Startup writer, Programmer, Tech Career Blogger, Education Engagement Enthusiast